A beautiful morning for the second poetry tea. Yesterday’s holiday canoe and picnic festivities meant that I wasn’t able to bake and cook from scratch today. But not meeting ideal standards should never prohibit an opportunity to share tea and poetry with friends. Pinwheel sandwiches, cinnamon roles, muffins, fresh fruit (from the local deli), a fruit salad (from my friend), a lovely tiger lily center piece (from the front garden), and , of course, a generous selection of tea, set us up nicely.  2 moms, 6 kids, and Longfellow’s marvelous verse.

The Arrow and the Song

I shot an arrow into the air,
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For, so swiftly it flew, the sight
Could not follow it in its flight.

I breathed a song into the air, 
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For who has sight so keen and strong
That it can follow the flight of song?

Long, long afterward, in an oak
I found the arrow, still unbroke;
And the song, from beginning to end,
I found again in the heart of a friend.
                              Henry W. Longfellow

 

