What does exercise really look like for a homeschool mom. I know there are some fitness model moms out there, I have seen their pictures and felt my jaw drop with (in?)appropriate amazement. And then there’s the rest of us.

Not sure about you, but I am really tired a lot of the time. My joints are starting to show their age. I am really stiff when I wake up in the morning. I have very little free time. I don’t have much of a budget to invest in fitness. I would not be caught dead wearing only leggings and a sports bra (for both modesty and vanity reasons–vanity probably more than modesty). Yet, health and wellness are important to me, both to maintain my own body in good working order and to model a healthy (or at least somewhat healthy) lifestyle to my children.

Mat based classes such as Pilates are a great option. Low impact. Suitable for all fitness levels. No equipment necessary. Whole body fitness, but especially good for strengthening the core and the mind body connection.

I hope you enjoy the video this week.

Tip of the Week: Give a new fitness program time. Learning any new skill requires time and repetition. Don’t be afraid to spend a few weeks with a new video or class slowly learning the moves and building up your strength. The first time through something new is often a little discouraging. We don’t have the strength, flexibility, coordination, or what ever “it” is that we want to have, so it is easy to fall into a trap of negative thinking and just give up. Be OK with where you are and have lots of patience while you are learning something new. It is such a great feeling to suddenly realize that you can hold plank for a minute or keep going through an entire cardio routine. Give yourself the grace and time to get there.

Recipe Recommendation:Β This recipe for Tzatziki and Greek Bread happily caught my eye during a random scroll through the blog reader. I substituted whole grain flour and cooked the bread in a little bit of olive oil on the stove top, because I don’t have a pizza stone. We also added fresh dill from the garden and lemon juice to the tzatziki sauce. Serve with seasoned ground turkey, lettuce tomato, and red onion for a delicious dinner. My kids had fun making the bread and harvesting dill from the garden.

Encouraging Word: My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some passion, some compassion, some humor, and some style.Β  Maya Angelou

Have you every tried Pilates? Do you have an encouraging health or fitness story to help lift us over a rough patch during the week. Please share in the comments below.

Interested in more: Please visit Move It Monday. Her wonderful post series inspired this one.

#7 Day Daily Post Challenge: Day 5

