Last week, I was so touched when I read Jane’s post, inspired by “Poetry Tea Tuesday”. This week my family was not able to hold a Tuesday tea, so I treated the children to a Monday afternoon tea at a local English Garden tea shop. My 16 year old son was suitably mortified:) My 3 girls enjoyed it, especially the younger 2. I read Jane’s post aloud to them and found myself moved to tears by the heartfelt emotion. I hope you enjoy her writing as much as I do! Her lovely blog, about her families adoption journey, is well worth your time.

#7 Day Daily Post Challenge: Day 6

Adopting Star

In December 1939, Britain had been at war with Germany for 3 months. Only 21 years after the end of the First World war, no one needed to be reminded of the brutal reality and cost of conflict.

At home in London a 13 year-old girl handed her Father the following poem as she thought it would help him in his work:

“I said to the man who stood at the Gate of the Year

Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.”

And he replied,

“Go out into the darkness, and put your hand into the hand of God.

That shall be to you better than light,

and safer than a known way”

Minnie Louise Haskins

The girl was Princess Elizabeth and her father King George VI, he read the poem in his Christmas address and it gave hope and comfort to millions.

View original post 663 more words

