If we were having coffee, we wouldn’t be able to enjoy our usual spot on the back deck. Last night’s dog versus skunk incident crimped my style.

A little bit after 11pm, I let the dog out back, through the garage, to do her business before we all retired for the night. Of course the back garage door was open so she could wander in of her own accord. Of course, the bedroom windows were open, with fans drawing in the cool night air. Of course the car was parked in the garage with the windows down. So when dog met skunk and the usual consequences ensued, the house, garage, and car were wide open and receptive.

By the time my husband and I processed what had happened it was 11:20pm. The local stores close at 11. The dog reeked, the house reeked, the garage/car didn’t smell to good either. What to do? No one around here drinks tomato juice.

The internet had lots of solutions. We decided to go with a DIY concoction of:
16 oz. hydrogen peroxide
1/4 cup baking soda
1 tsp liquid dish soap
Place all ingredients in a jar with a tight fitting lid and shake  to
blend. Use immediately.

Here is a link to a similar recipe, with a little more explanation.
This worked wonders on the dog. Our dog tends to be rather malodorous anyway. Even though she is bathed weekly, odor is still a problem. This concoction had her smelling better than ever. I may need to add this in to her regular grooming routine.

Deskunking the dog was easy. The house, not so much. I read that putting uncovered bowls of undiluted white vinegar in each affected room in the house would help to absorb odor. I think it helped, but some odor still lingers.

My kids had a dance performance out of town today. So in the morning I sprayed the carpets, curtains, couches, etc. with vinegar and left. When I got home this evening I started running loads of affected articles through the wash using vinegar in place of laundry soap. I think it will take awhile, but hopefully in a few days everything will be back to normal. The garage and back deck need a good cleaning anyway.

I am trying out this DIY fabric refresher spray from onegoodthing:
1 cup distilled water
1 cup distilled white vinegar
1/2 cup liquid fabric softener

***Edit: I found this concentration of fabric softener too strong (too much perfume). Next batch I will try 1/4 cup.

Hopefully this will give us all the deodorizing power of vinegar, but minimize the astringent smell.

Have you or your pet ever had a skunk encounter? Do you have any great tips to help remove the odor from the house and garage? Please share your stories and wisdom in the comments below.

Many thanks to Dianna at the parttimemonsterblog for hosting the #WeekendCoffeeShare.

#7 Day Daily Post Challenge: Keepin’ on with day 10

 

 

