Today wrapped up day 2 for me of the 8 week, Bad Yogi Perfect Body Yoga Challenge.The title sounds a little off-putting, but Erin Motz is an amazing human being who is all about encouraging us to achieve the healthiest version of the body we have. She says, “Strength and flexibility are better goals than tiny waists and bikini bodies.” I couldn’t agree more

This past year has been stressful in a myriad of ways. My default coping mechanism is carbs, especially rich sugary carbs, and boy have I been relying on these big time. Today I got back on the scale (after months of avoidance) and the truth hurt. The closet full of clothes that don’t fit gave me a (not so little) heads up, but seeing the number was still painful anyway.

Enough is enough. I need to get back on track with healthy eating. Since I do the shopping and cooking for my family I need to get us all back on track. But I need a kick in the pants. Shelling out money for a challenge will hopefully provide the impetus I need.

The first two days of practice have been great. Day 1, “Easy Going Core Flow” was a gentle introduction. Day 2, “Lower Body Cardio Flow” was fast paced and fun. Lunge crunches were a new to me move that got the heart rate up and helped get me set up for a good day.

The week 1 mantra, “I am enough”, really speaks personally to me. It is so much easier to think about the ways that I perceive myself as lacking instead of praising God and trusting that His grace is truly sufficient for each day.

God doesn’t call the equipped, son. God equips the called. And you have been called.

Rick Yancey

My weakness is meal planning. I really don’t love to meal plan. I also tend to be really busy shuttling kids around in the evenings, so unless I have a solid food plan we really depend too much on processed junk.

My go to staples:

Grilled Chicken
Baked Tofu
Quinoa Salad
Bean Salad
Cabbage Stir Fry
Roasted Root Vegetables
Smoothies
Lots of Salad Greens
Raw Veggie Sticks
Humus
Garden Burgers
Steamed Mixed Veggies

All of you people with meal planning gifts, do you have any simple, economical options to help a girl out?

A few years ago, Erin Motz, posted a free 30 Day Yoga Challenge doyouyoga.com. Finding this series on YouTube was my first introduction to her amazing classes. Here is day 1 of the free 30 day challenge if anyone wants to join me without jumping on the PBYC bandwagon:) I plan to post weekly updates on my progress and would love to hear how you are doing as well!

As I have not written up my July Intentions, now seems a great time to do that as well.

Looking back on June: I didn’t achieve 100% in any category, but definitely did better than I would have done without a plan. A lot will carry over into July, but some new things too.

Spiritual life:

Carried over from June: Spend dedicated personal time in the word daily. Pray specifically for my husband and children each day and by name. Quality: Notice the things I am grateful for and give thanks for them.

Added for July: Finish reading How to Talk so Kids Will Listen, and Listen so Kids will Talk and plan to implement at least one strategy. Quality: Increasing positive and respectful interactions.

Family Life:

Carried over from June: Be more intentional about planning family adventures. Set boundaries around personal time and family time. Quality: Learn to be present in the moment.

Added for July: Work on restoration and forgiveness in my relationship with my father.

The past cannot be changed. The future is shaped by our current thinking. It is imperative for our freedom to understand that our parents were doing the best they could with the understanding, awareness, and knowledge they had. Whenever we blame someone else, we are not taking responsibility for ourselves.

Louise L. Hay

Homeschool: Firm up school plans for next year and make a plan to purchase curriculum. Use a planner to stay more on top of the family schedule. Quality: Homeschool from a place of rest.

Health: Be faithful in the PBYC. Make a real effort to meal plan and improve healthy eating. Wine and desserts 1x per week, most likely on the weekend. Quality: Releasing harmful habits, receiving new habits.

Long term weight loss goal of 25 lbs.

Fitness: PBYC challenge 5 days per week and 3-4 days of strength and cardio. Quality: Increase flexibility, strength, and endurance. Overcome mental blocks.

Blogging: 3 posts per week goal: Fitting in Fitness, Poetry Tea Tuesdays, and one other post of author’s choice. Quality: Learning from others and finding a voice.

What are your goals, fitness or personal, for July? Any challenges in store? Please share in the comments below.

