If we were having coffee I would offer you some homemade, peanut butter, oatmeal, chocolate chip cookies, help myself to a few, and the begin to lament my sugar addiction. Contained for a number of years, over the past  nine months or so, it has insidiously crept back into my life. A cheat here, an extra sliver of cake there and sugar has again become an untamed beast.

Moderation is the best, yet moderation is so hard. As an all or nothing kind of gal I need to take the plunge and go desert free again. It is either that or buy a new wardrobe. Even as a faithful Goodwill shopper, the cost of clothes is astronomical and shouldn’t really be a priority in this months budget. And maybe going desert free will even cut down on the grocery bills. Here’s to hoping anyway.

Author, Gretchen Rubin writes about abstainers and moderators. All of her books have impacted my life from the better, and I can’t quite remember which one(s) cover this topic, but I love her perspective and her frequent quoting of Samuel Johnson. When once offered wine he replied: “Abstinence is as easy to me as temperance would be difficult.”

As much as I hate to admit it I am an abstainer. When I try to live as a moderator I quickly become less and less moderate until I am eating dessert twice a day and craving more. When I live as an abstainer I simply do not choose to have dessert. A straight path versus a slippery slope. As much as I wish to be a moderator and live by the 80/20 rule, that path, at least so far, has not been the right one for me.

So it is time again to experience a dearth of desserts. To eat abundantly, healthfully, joyfully, mindfully and dessert free.

Wish me luck!

